Wednesday, December 30, 2009

Zip-Line Canopy Tour

Our latest adventure brought us to the Adventure Park Canopy Tour. This is a great park with a ton of different activities, but we chose the Zip-Line tour over 11 waterfalls. It includes 25 separate cable runs over some spectacular scenery, 2 cable-assisted rappels, lunch, plus you start the day with a 45 minute horseback ride up the mountain to start of the tour. In the middle of the tour we stopped for a half an hour or so so we could swim in a pool at the bottom of a waterfall. A great day.

As usual, we tagged along with the Gonzo’s in Costa Rica clan (check out their blog here), some of their friends from the states who were here visiting for the Christmas holidays, and a few other tourists. In all I’d say about 25 of us.

By far the best line of the day goes to Patsy, (who is a Mexican-American). At the top of one the cables the guide was explaining that you needed to keep your feet up high and lay flat as you passed over the top of the waterfall or you’d get a wet back. Patsy instantly shot back “who you calling a wetback?”. I cracked up.

Both of our kids said that this was the favourite adventure so far. They were both a little nervous at first, but they both overcame their fears and started to really enjoy it. I was quite proud of them.

Here’s some pics & videos.

IMG_1226

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1231

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1240

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1241

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1243

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1252

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1253

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Monday, December 21, 2009

Festival De La Luz

Each Christmas a lot of towns and cities in Costa Rica have a Festival De La Luz, or Festival of Light. Apparently San Jose has a pretty incredible one. Here in Atenas it’s not quite as grand.

There were speeches outside the municipality building, a parade and then the night was topped off with a big display of “Fuegos Artificiales”, or fireworks. We missed the fireworks because we were all just too tired after our long day making Christmas tamales, but heard they were great.

This is the second parade we have been to here, and to be honest, I have never been big on parades, even as a kid. However, parades in Costa Rica are always just a little bit different. For one thing, they never start on time, and for some unknown reason they always seem to just stop moving for extended periods of time. I never know whether to laugh or cry when I’m looking at the same kid dressed up in a hot suit with a wool cap, doing an energetic salsa dance for 10 minutes straight. She tries to keep the smile on, but you know she’s thinking “Let’s get moving!!!”

Also, mixed in with the traditional marching bands, floats and horse drawn carriages are always a few surprises. My favourite in this parade was a yellow Hummer advertising his 1-900 sex-line call center business which is situated here in Atenas, complete with scantily-clad girls. (Yes boys, there are pictures below).

The parades always seem to be very well attended, and in the central park, there are vendors selling all sorts of stuff - things like jumping-castles and a couple of trampolines for the little kids to play on, and also some good food stands. Our favourite was the barbequed chicken and pork skewers which sold for only $1000 colones a piece (about $1.80 Cdn)

Oh, and I also have no problem going to a Christmas parade dressed in my shorts & sandals.

IMG_1109

 

We were once again joined by the Gonzo’s in Costa Rica clan.

 

 

 

 

IMG_1114

 

These “Boyero” ox-carts were used to transport coffee before modern transportation. (Don’t you love the light sticks on his horns!)

 

 

IMG_1119

 

 

The kids’ school band/baton twirlers made an appearance.

 

 

 

IMG_1131

 

 

They make cute elves here.

 

 

 

IMG_1133

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1153

 

 

BBQ Chicken stand.

 

 

 

 

IMG_1155

 

 

The Davies Carnivores

 

 

 

 

one_900

 

 

 

1-900

 

 

 

IMG_1145

 

 

Ho-Ho-Ho

(Sorry, couldn’t resist)

 

 

 

IMG_1148

 

 

The boys approve!

Sunday, December 20, 2009

Making Christmas Tamales

The traditional Christmas dinner in Costa Rica does not center around a turkey like it does in Canada, instead it’s tamales. This year we were extremely lucky to have been invited to our new friend Eduardo’s in-law’s house to help in the traditional preparation of them. We met Eduardo through our good friends, the Gonzoles family, and along with his in-laws (who we simply called abuelo & abuela or grandpa & grandpa) was Eduardo’s wife Elena, their 2 kids Emanuel (8 years old), and Emilliano (1 year), 2 young cousins around 8-10 years old, and Elena’s brother and his girlfriend.

Every family has their own special way of making tamales, and they joked with us that every family always says theirs are the best. Eduardo’s family recipe is something like this: The base is “masa” (a paste of corn and potatoes and abuela’s secret spices) and to that you place on top pieces of meat of your choice (often pork) then vegetables like carrots, red peppers, green beans, onions, etc. To that you add a spoonful of homemade salsa-type tomato sauce and a dollop of spicy pickled vegetables in a mustard sauce. Then all of this is wrapped up in a banana leaf into a small brick shaped bundle. To cook them, you either steam them, or drop the whole thing into a pot of boiling water.

However, it’s a long, hard day’s work to do all of this! (It puts us to shame when we complain about the amount of work it takes to prepare a turkey dinner.) We showed up at 10 in the morning and didn’t leave until 5:30, and they were nowhere near finished making them all.

We started with a pile of huge banana leaves that Eduardo had collected previously right from his in-laws “finca”, or farm. We had to put them over an open fire to soften the leaves, then we had to remove the large central vein from the leaves. Once that was done we brought the leaves into the kitchen to clean them and cut them to size. Everybody gets into the act (including our kids!) and they tell us that this is often where the family gossips about whoever is not there to help.

While we are doing all of this, abuela is busy boiling potatoes, preparing the corn meal, and putting the “masa” all together into huge pots. These are then put onto 2 cinder blocks with an open fire below to heat until it bubbles. The fire was right outside the door of the open-air kitchen and so we spent a large portion of the day in smoke. Megan loved it! While the masa is cooking, everybody takes turns with a huge paddle stirring the pot. During all of this, abuelo has finished his work in the chicken coop and shows up with his accordion to entertain us with some music while we work.

So, the first pot starts to bubble and I’m thinking to myself how the heck are they going to get this huge, hot pot back into the kitchen. Abuela comes out with a single towel and gives it to Eduardo and I’m thinking “Is she going to make him carry it himself?” But no, Eduardo uses the towel like a pot holder, and abuela just uses her bare hands and they carry it together into the kitchen. This pot was not only very heavy, but smoking hot and she had no trouble with it. An amazingly tough old gal! She was on her feet all day doing very demanding work and the whole while she was just wearing an old pair of flip-flops! Plus she even found time in between doing all of the prep work and the assembly of the tamales to sneak away for a quick shower.

It wasn’t all work, however. In between jobs, Eduardo would show us around the finca. He is a very passionate guy who loves to share details about the Costa Rican plants & animals.

The finca is actually located within walking distance from our house, and like so many properties here is hidden behind an unassuming gate off the main road. They have a small number of cows that the kids had fun hand-feeding. (Amazingly, the cows seemed to love whole oranges, peel and all, and meter-long stalks of sugar cane). They also had a couple of chicken coops, each with it’s own rooster, which provides them with eggs and chicken.

They grew corn, mostly to feed the chickens, beans, sugar cane, oranges, yucca, and at least 7 different varieties of banana! (I had no idea there were so many!). There were also a couple of medicinal plants growing, some very hot chilli peppers, orchids, and a plant with a very rough sand-paper like leaf that previous generations used to scour pots.

They also have a sugar cane press on the finca and Eduardo cut down 2 ripe stalks about 10 feet long and stripped them of their leaves. He then cleaned them and put them through the press and these 2 stalks produced a whole gallon of “jugo de cana”, or sugar cane juice. He put ice into glasses and poured it straight in, and we all had a glass. It was a little too sweet for us, but a very cool experience.

Anyway, back to the tamales. When everything is ready, the idea is to get an assembly line going, but with so many inexperienced Canadians around, that idea kind of broke down. How it’s supposed to work is one person lays out the banana leaves, one to puts on the masa, one or two to put in the ingredients, then one wraps and another ties. They always tie 2 together into one bundle called ‘pinas’ which means ‘pairs’.  We marked ours by tying a corn husk on each bundle so they didn’t get mixed up with the others when they went into the pot. Finally, the huge pots are back on the smoky fire right outside to cook the ones they want for Christmas. The rest are frozen. The cooked ones are then cooled and refrigerated, and heated up on Christmas day.

All in all it was an amazing day, and one I’ll remember for a long time. Eduardo’s family was very welcoming to us, seemed very relaxed, laughed a lot and got a lot done in a really low stress manner. How’s the stress level at your house with 5 days left till Christmas? We ended up with a dozen pairs of tamales, the Gonzo’s probably had at least that, if not more, and Eduardo told me they made 208, and worked until 10 that night!

IMG_1043

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1052

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1053

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1055

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1059

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1060

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1062

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1072

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1075

 

 

The kids take a soccer break

 

 

IMG_1078

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1080

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1090

 

 

 

Nathan feeding whole oranges to a cow

 

 

IMG_1095

 

 

 

Traditional Costa Rican coffee maker

 

 

IMG_1100

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1101

 

 

 

 

 

 

Megan's First Tamale

IMG_1105

 

 

 

Our Haul!

Friday, December 11, 2009

Tarantula… Revisited

This time… it’s alive!

Nathan found this guy out the back door (while running around in his bare feet), and it’s the first live tarantula I’ve ever seen outside of a zoo. I know the grandmothers are going to love this picture, framed so nicely against the backdrop of the kids water toys!

tarantula_2

Monday, December 7, 2009

Welcome Home?

Back less than 24 hours from the Dominican, and I was moving all of the shoes I had unpacked on the veranda into the house. I was grabbing shoes by the arm load, and when I went back for a second load, I saw something skittering away. For all I know it was stuck inside one of our shoes! Now we can add scorpion to our list of resident critters. Cute eh?

Scorpion

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nate-Scorpion

 

As usual, Nathan is willing to add some perspective to the shot.

Dominican Wedding

We just wanted to send out a huge congrats to Steve and Megan, my niece and her new husband on an absolutely fabulous beach wedding in the Dominican Republic.

We have been really enjoying our time here in Costa Rica, but we really appreciated the chance to get together with family. Not having to go back to Canada in December to do it was also appreciated. Seriously, with most of my family scattered around, and living busy lives, we’re lucky to see each other for a evening dinner party, or a kids birthday party, maybe once every 6 months. Having a whole week to spend lots of time with each other was really great.

I would also like to say a big thank you to all of Steve and Megan’s wild young friends who not only tolerated our kids but actively went out of their way to include them when possible. My kids really enjoyed it. Seeing the girls, some of whom were still in their bridesmaid dresses trying to sneak 9-year old Rachel into the disco was really hilarious (but thankfully unsuccessful).

Have a great life together, you two!

Lots of love, Wayne, Megan, Rachel and Nathan

IMG_0972

Sunday, November 22, 2009

Nathan Getting “Bugged”…

I can’t remember if Nathan was squeamish of bugs before he went to Costa Rica, but he’s not anymore…

Thursday, November 19, 2009

A Window into Car Repairs…

When was the last time you had a good experience with car repairs? Yeah, I thought so.

Let me tell you about my experience over the last few days. Our good old 1993 Isuzu Trooper has had problems with the power windows ever since we got here, but one night last week the driver’s side window died completely and of course it was DOWN at the time, and yes, of course it rained that night. (A garbage bag and duct tape saved the day, however)

The next day I went to a guy who my good buddy Jay had introduced me to before. He works out of his house/driveway and he’s my new favourite Costa Rican.

First day: He is able to get the window put up and then sends me to the auto parts guy to see how much the parts are. I find that a new part is over $200 US, and that is if I risk life and limb by driving into San Jose and get it from a parts store there. It would be over $250 to have it delivered back here to Atenas. A second hand part will cost half of that, but there is no guarantee. If we put it in and it doesn’t work, I’m just out of luck… So, back to my guy the next day. (Remember also that he doesn’t know a word of English)

Second day: I tell him what’s up and he says, “Well, how about this. I can get a new Hyundai window controller for much cheaper and I can make an ‘adaption’ to make it work and install it as best I can”. So I’m thinking that it’s going to look like crap with an ill fitting part, but I decide the car’s an old pile of junk anyway, and say “OK, go for it”

Third day: He has the car for the whole day, (from 8:00 till 5:00), and when I come to pick it up, he has taken the old window controller, cut a hole in it to insert the new, smaller Hyundai controller so it fits into the slot perfectly (It looks great!). He cut off the mismatched Hyundai connector, and re-wired it to match the Trooper controls. He did this in such a way that if some future owner ever wants to put in an actual Trooper replacement part, it will be a simple disconnect and replacement operation. Totally slick!

But that’s not all, one of the individual controllers didn’t work either, so he did the same thing with it, such that now all of the windows work (one of them hadn’t worked at all, and of course it was Nathan’s, the one most likely to get car sick)

But that’s STILL not all. I had mentioned in passing that we were also having a problem with the interior light going on and off intermittently while we were driving, but I wasn’t even sure he understood me. He determined that most of the doors had been rattled loose on the bad roads here, (big surprise) and so he adjusted all the doors so they now close nice and tightly, and had to make another adaption to one of the door’s little closer button so now the light works just fine.

And the best part of all - how much do you think all of that cost me? The parts were 34000 colones, and his labour was 16000, for a total of 50000 colones. At today’s exchange rate that comes out to a grand total of $94.08 Canadian.

This guy was a joy to deal with, and seemed to take real pleasure in seeing how happy I was with the results. I can’t remember the last time I received that level of service and value in Canada. That’s a shame.

The only unfortunate thing I foresee is that having a 16-year old vehicle on these roads will likely give me many more opportunities to be amazed by the mechanics here.

Sunday, November 15, 2009

Coffee Time…

I have been hopelessly addicted to coffee for a long time, and one of the more enduring memories I have of my father was that he was never far away from a cup (or thermos) of coffee. He liked his with that canned condensed milk and at least 3 spoons of sugar – I called it candy coffee.

However, since arriving in Costa Rica I realized how little I actually knew about how coffee is produced. You could have told me that it grew on a vine, or underground, or in a pod like peas and I couldn’t have argued otherwise. Today I learned just a little bit more how it’s picked at least. (BTW they grow on kind of a bushy little tree, perhaps 8-9 feet tall, with dark green pointy leaves).

We live on sort of a rural road with coffee plants growing in lots of different places, including right on the other side of our fence. They are so close in fact, I sometimes have to move a branch or 2 away from our clothesline while hanging clothes.

Anyway, the middle of November marks the beginning of coffee picking season, and our Nicaraguan maid Maria told me today that there are lots of transient workers in town from Nicaragua just to pick coffee.

I had no idea just how the picking was done (was it a machine? did they cut them down, or what?) so I was quite intrigued to see a guy just over the fence picking beans by hand! He had a sturdy wicker basket tied to his waist with a wide cloth belt, and he just pulled the branches down and stripped off the beans with efficiency. He somehow managed to leave the green beans on the branch, and only pick the red, ripe ones. I went up and said hello, found out his name is Martin, and that he has worked for the “finca” (or farm), for 10 years. The owner is a rich doctor from San Jose. He told me that the coffee is taken to the “beneficio” (which I think means something like a co-op) just down the road from us for production. Someone told us we might be able to get a tour around the place so I’m going to try to arrange that for when the in-laws are here visiting.

I tried to ask him if these particular plants were a particular brand or quality, but it was beyond my Spanish. He did say that the best quality beans are sent out of the country and the Costa Ricans are left to drink the lesser quality stuff. I couldn’t tell if he was bitter or not, but I’m sure it’s probably true, and that’s a little disappointing.

I found out that “Shade Grown Coffee” is more natural, more sustainable and better for the environment, and I realized with pleasure that that is how I see coffee plants most often around here (including next door). Growing under other types of larger trees.

Oh, what I can say about the quality of the coffee that we buy here (which IS grown and produced right here), is that it’s great! If we are getting the B-grade stuff, it’s just fine with me. Oh, and cheap also.

IMG_0626 

Shade grown coffee on a hill just down our street.

 

 

 

IMG_0776

 

Martin hand-picking coffee right next door.